Today I hate blogs and the 2.0.

social_not1

I found this site Alltop which is portal to blogs, through one of my news feeds I like to read from chrisbrogan.com, and now I feel awful and think that the whole concept of social web should be shot down. I think that tomorrow I’ll already be feeling a lot better.

I’m currently wondering where does this all end, this blogging thing? This ‘follow me in Twitter’ thing. When every person has their own blogs (in some cases several), who will read them all and are they the dominant information channels of the future? Or is it like with the first crush: will it gradually slow down to a more mature way of love, which mostly lasts longer and feels more stable? Sorry ’bout that folks: just bought ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ by Mr. Wilde and I’m unfortunately spellbound by its language.

Well OK, not everyone’s going to write a blog, but there are a lot of blogs out there already and I believe it’s still dawn of the socialized web revolution. Midday at best.

Will the basic blogs eventually change to something else? Will groups of bloggers then build communities that grow to become web portals that change to become something else? And will there then be ‘guerilla’ bloggers who want to keep their own unconditional voice – or will there ever even be the change to loose the voice again? Will there be a circle in the progress – it goes backwards somehow?

There has always been an evolution in things. That’s the one driving force we humans possess. There will be evolution in these thing too.

Then there are people who have to work. I’m one of those. Professional blogger is an intriguing profession in my mind, but I don’t think that I could be one. It really takes a lot time to write good posts, and you have to maintain the pace or goodbye AdSense made revenue.

I’ve subscribed to many really interesting and great feeds. I read them so much that I sometimes get laughed about it at home. Sometimes when I’m subscribing (again) to a new great blog, I’m thinking, ‘well, do I really have the time to follow this too?’.

Sometimes when I’m ‘reading’ my news, I suddenly realize that I’ve just scrolled down to get the numbers of the unread posts down. That isn’t educating anymore, something has to go. Maybe the principles of deduction could help to find the thoughts with real value beneath the tide of mediocracy and thoughts with no relevance?

And surely I’d most definitely would like to write myself more, than spend all my days reading what other people have written about. But there’s soooo much interesting information to see. There must be really distressed people out there in the web when you think of the information flood that’s coming out from one’s internet connected devices.

Maybe someone is reading this post and beginning to feel the same way too.

4 thoughts on “Today I hate blogs and the 2.0.

  1. Pingback: Today I love blogs and the 2.0 « Momentary Lapse of Reasoning

  2. Sounds too familiar to me. I have started to feel that there is need for edited group blogs that are much closer to magazines than notebooks. Too much noise all around makes it much harder to actually learn something new as it is harder and harder to find good sources of quality information (that are also easy to read and look).

    Yes, I have at least 6–8 different blogs myself but that’s not good thing for most people…

  3. Kiitos jälleen hyvästä tekstistä!

    Toisaalta joudumme suojautumaan tiedon tulvaa vastaan, ja toisaalta tietoa pitää myös pystyä keräämään ja käsittelemään. Ei ole helppoa meillä nykyihmisillä.

    Joskus käy kateeksi Pentti Linkolaa, joka kalastelee, käy puhumassa tilaisuuksissa ja lukee lehtiä. Hänellä ei varmasti ole infoähkyä eikä multitasking-ahdistusta. (Hän onkin kehittänyt ihan toisen syyn ahdistua…)

    Jos jonain päivänä olen lopettanut blogin pitämisen ja toisten blogien kommentoinnin, minut löytää todennäköisesti veneestä onki kädessä.

    -k

Leave a Reply

