Mr. Holmes and Wise Words for Research

I went to see Mr. Holmes yesterday at one of my favourite cinemas in Perth, Cinema Paradiso in Northbridge. It was a lovely little movie, and a pleasant Sunday afternoon experience.

A sentence by Holmes (played by the great Ian McKellen) hit me. To me, it captures something rather sublime, and stands right in the centre of the tumultuous field of different research traditions (and when I say traditions, I mean it with all the connotations the word holds):

I had successfully deducted all the facts of her case, but failed to interpret their meaning.

– Sherlock Holmes

Leave a Reply

