Weekly research project bulletin 9.7.2015

During the last two weeks I’ve been conducting interviews for the phenomenological study of 3D virtual training environments. I’ve had pretty interesting discussions with the users. So this week’s been mostly about transcribing interviews – which sort of gives you a back, neck, elbow and wrist pain. Some themes are already starting to emerge, but I want to keep them at bay until I have transcribed everything and not jump into conclusions. Well, if I did, that would sort of be against the chosen descriptive phenomenological approach to analysis with bracketing and everything.

I’m doing the transcription myself, by hand. So no Dragon Dictate for me. The reason I am doing it like this is that I learned it already during my Masters research and one other research project that such a process gets you well immersed in the data. You become more one with it when you go through it several times. And boy, when you transcribe it, you really go through it several times. So that’s a good thing instead of a “process to be optimised”. Naturally if I had 50 people to be transcribed (and I can count roughtly 1 to 6 ratio for a transcription time, i.e. 1 hour of audio takes about 6 hours to transcribe), I probably would have to think other options too.

Publications

Just received a confirmation that a paper, “The Lived Experience of an Authentic Context in Virtual Environments: First Steps of a Descriptive Phenomenological Analysis in a Safety Training Setting“, co-authored with Hanna Teras and Torsten Reiners got accepted in the AACE 2015 E-Learn–World Conference on E-Learning.

It’s also that time of the year when Curtin Business School is having the annual 2-day Colloquium. I attended last year with a poster, which even won the best poster award. Full paper and a poster this year as now the research project is a bit further. Based on a paper by Randolph (2009), I used a phenomenological approach also to a part of the literature review in how research in human-computer interaction and especially in 3D virtual environments has described ’embodiment’. Hope to have some interesting results to present about this, and of the actual process of conducting it, at the colloquium.

References

Randolph, J. J. (2009). A Guide to Writing the Dissertation Literature Review. Practical Assessment, Research & Evaluation, 14(13), 1–13. doi:10.1306/D426958A-2B26-11D7-8648000102C1865D

Leave a Reply

