Africa rising

africa_waking_up
Image by Paraflyer (Licence)

I have a feeling, that we’re soon going to hear a lot more news from the mankind’s first home.

Africa is a rising continent, it is probably the next ‘big thing’ in our beautiful need of always something new. Africa is coming in every field.

Most likely people who follow their time have already smelled this in the air, but I have to write this down so I can say to myself ‘I told me so’ when this all slightly happens. Check out my small list of the signs. This is just a scratch, so add more if you think there’s something missing:

  1. Art: I think I just wrote about this here: Exhibition: Tampere Art Museum – AFRICA/NOW Contemporary Art from Africa. Strangely, this has been one of the most read posts in my blog ever since.
  2. Business: Just last week I read from one of the largest business magazine in Finland how this is the time to invest in Africa. Google results happen to know this too: 5 680 000 hits with the words “invest in african shares”.
  3. Videogames: Do I even have to mention Resident Evil 5?
  4. Fashion and Apparel: Just read the April’s Time Magazine‘s Style&Design supplement where there was a large article about African fashion and handmade jewelry, bags and any other things you can imagine. Oh, did I already mention how the H&M’s shop window looked like this morning? That’s right: very tribal.
  5. Teaching, eLearning and Mobile: There has been a couple of very interesting starting collaborations in the field of eLearning and business, and continent has a huge potential study ground in using mobile phones. Maybe this is the place where mobile learning really takes off?
  6. Politics: Obama, anyone?
  7. Music: Well, I’m not a big fan of MTV, basically because they don’t play too much the music I like. But when you tune in to the channel, there’s an awfully lot of music which has its roots deep in the traditional African music. OK, this was maybe too obvious, but now the list is even longer.
  8. I’m somehow writing about this. Of course the most important sign to me.

I hope this possible contemporary development is good. Too many times we have seen that the so-called progress has been just another sign of western greed and pursue of wealth, or just anther trend which is forgotten after it has been sucked dry.

Could this be the time when we stop just feeding donation money there and give real sustainable help to the continent’s needs, which can only be done by honest human effort? The issue is clearly a hard one.

One thought on “Africa rising

  1. Pingback: Exhibition: Tampere Art Museum - AFRICA/NOW Contemporary Art from Africa « Momentary Lapse of Reasoning

Leave a Reply

