Nanoblogging

word
Hans Kullin, at The Social Media Today, wrote a while ago a post  “Forget microblogging – here comes the nanoblog”. He brought up some interesting points about the development of microblogging [basically services like Twitter and Jaiku].

He played with an idea that soon the trend in microblogging could be more towards even smaller count of words, even reduced to one. There’s already a service for it, check it out here nanoblogg.se, in Swedish though.

But as in always, people have come up a solution and destroyed the idea. For not being able to write more than one word: write everything together without hitting a space bar. I could almost consider this cheating towards nanoing.

I began to think that, for me, this nanoblogging sounds something that I already, and have seen others too, do with the Gmail status – without cheating like those .se users.

OK, you are allowed to write more than 1 word, sometimes I use even 4 words, but often less. Nonetheless, it’s really a current status reduced to its essence.

By the way, the funny thing in the Gmail statusbar is, that its shortness makes you sometimes want to desperately try fitting the text so others can see the status without having to mouse over your name. Yes, this is definitely an important thing in life.

And IMO, thus the way of communicating sometimes fits already picoblogging definitions mentioned in the referred SMT post. –For all those who don’t understand sarcasm, the ‘IMO’ was it and I refuse to submit to use it ever again.

So, what’s the use of this nanoblogging or the so called picoblogging to anyone? Well, ITCNMTFF.

6 thoughts on “Nanoblogging

  1. Kiitos kiinnostavasta tekstistä! Itse en juuri seuraa it-alaan tai webbiin liittyviä uutisia, joten blogisi on minulle hyvä tiedonlähde.

    Mikro- ja nanobloggaamisesta tulevat väistämättä mieleen myös Facebook-statukset. Niihinhän mahtuu parikin lausetta tekstiä, mutta monesti näkee yksi- tai kaksisanaisia statuksia:

    NN @tampere
    NN väsynyt
    NN ja perunamuusii

    Minun kaltaiseni kielikonsultin ja tekstityöläisen näkökulmasta nanobloggaus kuulostaa tietenkin huolestuttavalta. Miten yksi sana voi kertoa tarpeeksi? Viestinnästä tulee tällä tavoin yksittäisten sanojen virtaa, joka ei jaksa kiinnostaa ketään.

    Varmasti verkossa olevat tekstit ovat lyhenemään päin. Kuitenkin jossain kohtaa tulee se raja, että ymmärrys katoaa, koska ei ole tilaa perusteluille, taustoitukselle tai esimerkeille. Mutta onko se raja neljässä tekstikappaleessa, kahdessa lauseessa vai viidessä sanassa?

    Kiitos että jaksat kirjoittaa sopivan mittaisia postauksia. Niitä ehtii lukea, mutta niissä on myös tarpeeksi asiaa.

    • Kiitos kommenteista sekä aihetta että blogia kohtaan. Tässähän suomalaiseen tapaan ihan hämmentyy, kun kehutaan. Palaute meni perille ja hattuun. Kiitos siitä!

      Yritän kirjoittaa aina silloin, kun on jotain enemmän sanottavaa sen sijaan että toimisin vain kaikukammiona alan aiheille, sitäkin näkee. -Sanoo hän omanarvontunnossaan ylhäältä katsoen. 🙂

  2. @Katleena: Interesting comment, particularly your worry about shortwordedness 🙂 I think that one key notion that comes into play with micro- or nano-blogging, status updates, presence information, chat… is that each “post” is part of an ongoing conversation. The one word which you submit doesn’t have to tell the whole story. But it can trigger or add to a conversation.

    I tend to agree with Marko, though, that there may be little room for nano-blogging as a concept separate from micro-blogging. I mean, no-one is keeping you from using just one or two words on a micro-blogging service or in a chat. We do that all the time in SMS messages, where there is exactly as much text space as there is on Twitter.

    • Excellent points Jos! Thanks for sharing them.

      I also believe that, in the same way as updating your status in Facebook, you may trigger new conversations with just one word. It just may be, that it works best when the people who receive that word, know you and something about your doings.

      Let’s say I’m posting ‘GOT!’ to my status. You there, the casual visitor, don’t know what I mean and probably ignore it as something not interesting that floats in the web by millions, and won’t comment it. But in the other hand, my friends may know that I got the job I was applying and that brings up new conversation.

      This as a one example.

      And I agree with Jos on that ‘Nano-blogging vs. microblogging? Who cares!’. People want to and need to communicate and they don’t need named concepts to do it. And good point on the SMS thing.

  3. An interesting conversation going on here, I like it.

    Jos: Nice that you also found time to get to know Marko’s blog. I found this just less than a week ago. From now on, I will be regular visitor. That’s almost like a promise.

    Marko: I told Jos that he should definately visit your blog. I know that this is worth recommending. And I will continue on that chosen path.

    To the topic: I must say that I like to keep my status updates short and simple. Sometimes I even realize that I haven’t updated in a week. I rely on the fact that the people closest to my heart do know what is going on in my life. A simple “3 points”, “Better luck next time”, “Good Bye” will communicate to them that 1) Tappara won 2) Tappara lost and 3) Tappara did not make in the playoffs. Sad but true 🙂

    Those people who don’t get what I mean often ask me that what on earth do I mean. Gladly, I do explain it to them. With a longer reference to the reality 🙂

    And what is my point here: KIS(S). But when somebody asks, please be ready to explain a bit more in detail. If they are in your network: it should be worth it. More than many times I have asked people about their “nano-statuses”, just out of curiosity.

    Thanks to blogging, I just learned that the plural form of status is “statuses”. Do we ever use that word? If you don’t believe, you can find it in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary: http://www.m-w.com/. 😉

Leave a Reply

