How to smear a good customer service concept with bad management

Which way?
Image by Tom Olliver (Licence)

I’m renovating a couple of rooms in our home and because I’m not that experienced, I need some help with it. How delighted I was when I noticed that one hardware store offered service where they help you to choose the best tools and materials for your renovation and even tell you the best methods for the job. How happy I was, but am not anymore.

I accidentally found the service buried in the dungeons of the store’s web site. There was a list of sales persons with their contact information (email, tel. etc.), you may contact them and settle for an appointment. Then you’re supposed to meet and the sales person should help you with your renovation problems. Sounds sweet, right? Wrong.

It happened so that I called there trying to get touch with one of the sales persons that looked like a nice person., After a loooooong waiting period a dull woman’s voice answered. What’s this, I thought?

I asked her if this was in this hardware store and said that I was calling for the service they offered. She unghed and after a while of silence said this was indeed in the store I was trying to call. She didn’t know much of their service, but promised to forward me to one of their sales persons. OK, at this part I was already ripe enough to forget the thing, but you should have something to write to your blog, shouldn’t you? So I waited.

I’m sure that she tried everyone in their store before someone answered. OK, the guy who was at the other end sounded really helpful and all, but didn’t really help me with anything.

I had just used almost half an hour to this nonsense and got nothing in return. Now I think I won’t be even buying the materials from them.

Must-haves in your service concept or I won’t be using it:

  1. If you have created a service which should provide more value to your customers and even bring new ones, make sure it can be found and the concept idea is consistent. Make sure you have a crystal clear outline and structure.
  2. Publish it with a bang, show it everywhere, make people find it from your web site. Test it and polish it, so anyone can understand what you are offering.
  3. Make your personnel familiar with the concept. They have to understand it and know what to tell people about it.
  4. If nothing else, at least teach them to answer the phone with a smiling voice. Nothing is more humiliating to the customer than feeling they are bothering someone not a bit interested in them.
  5. If you have contact information somewhere, there should be someone to contact. It means, answer the phone, the emails. If this is not delivered, clients will frustrate and won’t try to contact you twice. Do I have to even mention that this means less money for your company?
  6. Make your personnel’s pictures in your website appealing. Mr. Bad Ass with a Bad Insomnia isn’t gonna bring you more customers.
  7. Nothing, I mean, nothing is more frustrating than first finding a great and amazing service, and then noticing it won’t work the way it has been said it would. OK, perhaps maybe noticing how someone has taken a piece of your precious time and has delivered nothing.
One thought on “How to smear a good customer service concept with bad management

  1. Pingback: Campaigning – A renovation company « Momentary Lapse of Reasoning

Leave a Reply

